Paleo Coconut Cookies

Tonight I was really craving something sweet! As I have mentioned before, I am a massive CHOC-A-HOLIC!! But I have set myself a challenge, I am going to go without chocolate for a whole three months, yep you read that right! Three whole months without the taste of a super sweet chocolate bar. Oh and it’s not just chocolate bars I have given up, it’s everything chocolate flavoured down to the coco powder that is spread on my daily cappuccino!!

So what else is there when that craving hits?

Look no further because these little babies will definitely blow the sweet tooth cravings! And in keeping with the nature of my blog, they are a paleo version with NO sugar. These are actually not to bad for you (if you can keep from eating the whole batch!!!!)

Paleo Coconut Cookies

1 egg, beaten
3 tablespoons natural honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups shredded coconut, unsweetened
1/2 cup almond meal
1 teaspoon baking powder

1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees (Celsius).

2. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together egg, honey, vanilla and salt. Stir in coconut until completely coated. Add almond meal and baking powder and mix again until all evenly distributed.

3. Fill a very round and deep ice cream scoop, packing in the coconut with another spoon to make it tight and firm. Release onto the baking sheet.

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes until nicely browned. Cool and serve.

NOTE: It is definitely worth waiting for these to cool before you eat if you can because they taste oh-so-nice and are slightly chewy and amazingly satisfying!

I was able to make 16 cookies out of these portions – and I’ll be honest here, between my husband and I there really aren’t too many left!

Paleo Coconut Cookies

This recipe was inspired by: Whole Foods for Whole Families

5 thoughts on “Paleo Coconut Cookies

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | BEING REBECCA HAINES

  2. Mmmm…these were yummy! I left out the baking powder as it doesn’t agree with me, and they still turned out great. What a treat; thanks!

    • Hi Emma, thanks for stopping by and sorry for the late reply! In getting back into blogging now! I don’t see why you couldn’t try it with coconut flour?! I might give it a go πŸ™‚ watch this space πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

